Where have I been?

I was so excited to start sharing everything I have made with everyone and then it seemed like I just fell off the face of the Earth. Here is a little bit  about what I have been up to…

First of all, back in February of this year, I was officially promoted to the Detective position. “Well she didn’t disappear until June” yall are probably telling yourselves. My Detective position is very rewarding, yet is very challenging. I typically work M-F 8a-5p and recently it has been once 5p hit, I was ready to go to bed. That’s not mentioning all of the times I ended up working late.

Another thing that ended up happening is that my husband and I are expecting our first child!! What that means is I am tired ALL OF THE FREAKIN TIME!! Don’t get me wrong, I am super excited about the arrival of little Lily, but who would’ve thought that a little rice-sized human could drain you so much. Between the two of these very exciting things, all I wanted to do was to plop on the couch and fall asleep watching T.V.

So to answer the question “Where have I been?” ….. the answer is on the couch snoozing.

I felt so bad about not sewing anything that I wouldn’t even stop by the fabric section at Walmart to see what new seasonal fabric they had because I knew I wouldn’t be touching it. Or go into Jo Ann’s just to touch all of the “feel good” fabrics.

I would do little things here and there, like fix a hole in one of Josh’s shirts or do a small something that only took 10 minutes to do. I would then tell him “man, I really miss sewing”. I would also just sit on the couch just longing to sew something, but I just couldn’t bring myself to do it. I’m sure I am not the only one that has experienced this, but it just made me sad to not be sewing anything.

This weekend on Sunday I actually got up early (like still dark early) to fix a pair of Josh’s jeans that had ripped. Then I finished up a table runner. Then I pieced together another table runner. Then I made him an awesome Halloween vest for Josh. I literally spent all day sewing that Sunday and it was GLORIOUS!!!

Then Monday hit and it was back to work and school again. Oh my goodness…. I can’t believe I didn’t mention grad school…. This semester I am taking a course called Program Evaluation and I cannot even begin to tell you how much I dislike this class. I also happen to have one of those professors that likes to assign 48048504 discussion boards, and then you have to respond to each discussion board 18 times to engage in conversation because it is an online course. Obviously I am exaggerating a little bit, but while I am on the couch attempting to take a baby nap, I think about how I can get out of doing my homework and push it off until tomorrow.

Also, some good news…. I’m not even sure if anyone knew or not but I had misplaced the pedal for my sewing machine. I ended up (accidently) ordering 2 pedals and neither of them worked. I was so bummed because it had been so long since I had a pedal for my machine and I couldn’t quilt anything. Well I have finally found one that works!! I have no idea where I got it from, but I am super glad that I found it and it was so nice having it this weekend!!!

Well that’s about all I got for this time and hopefully I’ll be able to post again shortly.

Until next time,

Brittany

2 thoughts on “Where have I been?

Leave a comment