Lazy Sewing

Admit it, we’ve all done it – taken those short cuts that any professional sewer would shake their head at. Sometimes it’s just easier to cut the corners and move on hoping that no one will notice, and chances are, they won’t. Take a look at these and let me know if you do any of these things and what other short cuts can I take in the future. 😉

Mix-Matching Bobbin Thread – This is probably one of the most common things that I do on a regular basis. I’ll be using white thread on top and then chances are if I was using red bobbin thread ealier on… I’ll probably use red bobbin thread again. ACTUALLY red bobbin thread was probably a bad example because I know I’m going to want to conserve it so I won’t have to wind another red bobbin – therefore I may go ahead and change it. Let’s just switch the colors in this scenario, you get what I’m saying though. I have no problem using 2 different colors of thread.

With that said, when I am using my embroidery machine, I will use the same color, but with basic sewing, you can guarantee there are probably two colors of thread.

Not Changing Needles – I’m sure this is a “no no” but I rarely change my sewing machine needles. There are several different rules of thumb that sewers are supposed to go by in order to keep their sewing machine running in tip top shape. *Change the needle in between each project * Change the needle every 4 hours of sewing * Change your needle every 8 hours or sewing * Change your needle every third bobbin you go through * OR you could be like me and change the needle when you start hearing it make that “thud” sound in your fabric, or the stitches start getting a little bit wonky. Or (shakes my head in shame) wait until the needle breaks to change it and hope that you aren’t top stitching something important.

Not Pre-Washing Fabric – This morning is actually the first time I have ever prewashed fabric and that is because I am making a baby blanket for a friend. Other than that, I just never do it and never have done it. I really wish I did do it more, but chances are when I come home with new fabric, I’m just ready to dig in!! Another reason why I don’t wash my fabric is because I don’t do a lot of clothes sewing. I typically enjoy sewing handbags or wallets or that type of thing that doesn’t usually get washed after it is sewn together. I also feel like it takes away from the crispness of the fabric. I feel that the baby blanket that I am making would actually look much sharper if I didn’t wash the fabric, however with a baby being involved, I didn’t really want to take that risk.

Leaving Basting Stitches In – That’s right, I do that too! One of the worst parts about sewing is “Frog Sewing”. Don’t you just hate when you have to “Rip it, rip it, rip it”? HA!!! But seriously, why on earth would I want to stitch something knowing that I will have to pick the stitches out at a later time? I can see why people do it when they press the seams open on a project, but for me, I typically press to one side and one side only…. THE DARK SIDE… DUN DUN DUUUNNNNN. I know that typically these are bigger stitches that are easy to pick out, I just don’t like doing it.

No Steam for Iron – I’m not saying that I DON’T iron, I just don’t ever use steam. It mainly comes down to I just never put water in my iron. Last time I traveled with my iron, the water that was in it ended up leaking, which is why I haven’t filled it back up yet. I totally love my iron and I honestly don’t know if it would make a difference if I did use steam or not.

Well these are a few of my most commonly used lazy sewing techniques. Let me know what you use to cut the time of a sewing project down!!

Until next time,

~Brittany

Leave a comment