Brother SQ9185 Sewing Machine Part 2

Oh my goodness, I am so sorry it has been so long since I have posted the part 2 to my Brother SQ9185 blog post. I was away at training for a week and then my graduate classes started back up again. If you haven’t read part 1, go check it out. <— I totally went back in and added this little hyperlink when I figured out how to do it further down.

Let’s see if I can remember what I have said about this sewing machine and what I have not. Did i mention that I love it?!

First off, I will hit on the drop-in bobbin.

If you have never used  a sewing machine with a drop in bobbin, I totally recommend you giving it a try. It is glorious and must easier to use than a front loading bobbin!! You don’t have that weird bobbin cover that you have to worry about, or have to take that storage compartment off to reload a new bobbin. As you can see in the picture, it has a diagram that shows you how to load the bobbin (counter clockwise) and how to thread it around so it can be picked up by the needle.

Next up is the thread cutter. This is the middle of the line thread cutter. It’s not the fancy thread cutter that knots off the thread and then cuts it with the press of a button, but it gets the job done without having to hunt for a pair of scissors.

Thread cutter

This little feature is a lot more handy that one would think. It has almost become muscle memory to cut my thread using this feature. I even tried using it when I was on my other sewing machine – Brother LS2350, which that review can be found here. <—OH MY GOODNESS, I CAN’T BELIEVE I FIGURED THAT OUT!!! AHHH!!! Ok, back to the review…. Anyways, my old sewing machine doesn’t have this little feature, which is disappointing when I go to cut my thread and there is nothing there to cut it. I’m sure the automatic threader is wonderful, but for right now, mine works perfectly!!

Next up is the fancy capability of dropping the feed dogs. I really like this for free motion quilting. On the back of some sewing machines is a little switch that will lower the feed dogs so it won’t feed the fabric forward. If you don’t have this feature, you can set your stitch length to zero, and you should be able to accomplish the same thing. One complaint that I have heard about the feed dog drop is that the tension can become kinda funky. Tension is a word that I don’t like to talk about because I don’t understand it 100%. The cool thing about this sewing machine is that it doesn’t really have a tension knob that you have to worry about.

Feed dogs

Something else that is a pretty small feature, but comes in handy is the storage compartment. This is so nifty because you don’t have to take the whole thing off in order to gain access to everything that is inside it. My Brother LS2350 has a storage compartment that you have to take completely off in order to get items (such as a seam ripper when you mess up your stitches, or bobbins for when you run out right before you finish a project).

As you can see, you can keep the storage compartment intact as you look for your little thing-a-ma-jigs.

Another thing I like, but haven’t really utilized a whole lot is the extending table. In order to use this, just pop the storage compartment off and slide the extending table on. I typically use this when I’m piecing a quilt block together so I can have more space to see what I’m doing.

Well I think that just about covers everything that I can think of…. All-in-all, I really love the Brother SQ9185 and would recommend it to anyone who wants just a good all-around sewing machine.

Next up, I’ll probably talk about my iron that I have been using (I know what you’re thinking… IRON?? haha).

Also, if you’ll notice in the corners of my pictures, I have incorporated a little fairy logo that will now be associated with my blog and anything else associated with me. I will probably do a post about it at some point.

Until next time,

Brittany

 

5 thoughts on “Brother SQ9185 Sewing Machine Part 2

  1. I don’t know if you’ve discovered this feature yet, but you can set your machine to start in the center position – I found out because I did the same darn thing, and that jarring/clunking thing that happened when I’d forget to move the needle was taking years off of my life. It’s on page 15, top right, of the owner’s manual (wouldn’t let me post link, so just google “brother sq9185 owner’s manual to get to the brother download site). I love this machine too 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment